CNET logo Why You Can Trust CNET

Our expert, award-winning staff selects the products we cover and rigorously researches and tests our top picks. If you buy through our links, we may get a commission. Reviews ethics statement

'The Mandalorian' Season 3 Schedule: Episode 1 Lands on Disney Plus

Grogu and Mando make their Star Wars streaming return this week.

Sean Keane Former Senior Writer
Sean knows far too much about Marvel, DC and Star Wars, and poured this knowledge into recaps and explainers on CNET. He also worked on breaking news, with a passion for tech, video game and culture.
Expertise Culture | Video Games | Breaking News
Sean Keane
3 min read
Grogu gazes out of a bubble viewport as his ship flies over a planet in The Mandalorian season 3

Grogu is ready for The Mandalorian season 3.


The Mandalorian season 3 kicked off on Disney Plus this week, with episode 1 dropping Wednesday. The live-action Star Wars show follows Grogu (aka Baby Yoda) and Mando as they travel through the galaxy, encountering new characters and familiar faces.

We'll get new episodes each week through April. Star Wars fans' Wednesdays will be packed this month, since season 2 of CGI animated series The Bad Batch is also rolling out on Wednesdays until the end of March.

The Mandalorian season 3 episode release dates and times

Here's our full predicted release schedule for The Mandalorian on Disney Plus, and we'll adjust this if the company announces any changes or breaks.

  • Episode 1: Available now
  • Episode 2: Wednesday, March 8
  • Episode 3: Wednesday, March 15
  • Episode 4: Wednesday, March 22
  • Episode 5: Wednesday, March 29
  • Episode 6: Wednesday, April 5
  • Episode 7: Wednesday, April 12
  • Episode 8: Wednesday, April 19

New episodes generally arrive at 12 a.m. PT (3 a.m. ET/8 a.m. GMT/7 p.m. AEST), and they land on the service at the same time globally. The show's official account also has a tweet you can like for weekly episode reminders.

Is there a trailer for The Mandalorian season 3?

There two trailers for the third season of The Mandalorian. Lucasfilm released the first during Disney's D23 convention in September and a second one on Jan. 16.

Where does The Mandalorian sit in the Star Wars timeline?

The series happens between Return of the Jedi and The Force Awakens, following the downfall of the Galactic Empire and the rise of the New Republic. 

All the Star Wars movies and shows are on Disney Plus, so you can catch up as you wish.

Do I need to watch the movies before The Mandalorian?

The movies -- particularly Original Trilogy installments A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi -- will make The Mandalorian a much richer experience and give you context, but the show tells a largely self-contained story aside from a few cameos.

A group of Mandalorians in different colored armor gather in The Mandalorian season 3

You can expect to see plenty of different Mandalorians.


At the very least, you should watch seasons 1 and 2 of The Mandalorian, which aired on Disney Plus in 2019 and 2020, before diving into season 3.

What about The Book of Boba Fett?

This eight-episode Mandalorian spinoff -- which isn't nearly as engaging as the show that spawned it -- initially seemed to focus on Boba Fett, but Mando and Grogu pretty much hijacked the show for the last three episodes.

It revealed how the pair reunited after parting ways in The Mandalorian season 2 finale.

Is there a quick way to remind myself what happened?

You could read CNET's recaps of seasons 1, 2 and The Book of Boba Fett.

Season 1

Chapter 1: The Mandalorian

Chapter 2: The Child

Chapter 3: The Sin

Chapter 4: Sanctuary

Chapter 5: The Gunslinger

Chapter 6: The Prisoner

Chapter 7: The Reckoning

Chapter 8: Redemption

Season 2

Chapter 9The Marshal

Chapter 10The Passenger

Chapter 11The Heiress

Chapter 12The Siege

Chapter 13The Jedi

Chapter 14The Tragedy

Chapter 15The Believer

Chapter 16: The Rescue

Boba Fett and Mando in The Book of Boba Fett

Boba Fett and Mando make a pretty cool team.


The Book of Boba Fett

Chapter 1: Stranger in a Strange Land

Chapter 2: The Tribes of Tatooine

Chapter 3The Streets of Mos Espa

Chapter 4: The Gathering Storm

Chapter 5: Return of the Mandalorian

Chapter 6From the Desert Comes a Stranger

Chapter 7: In the Name of Honor

2023's Best TV and Streaming Shows You Can't Miss on Netflix, HBO, Disney Plus and More

See all photos