Galaxy S23 Leak ChatGPT and Bing Father of Big Bang Theory 'The Last of Us' Recap Manage Seasonal Depression Tax Refunds and Identity Theft Siri's Hidden Talents Best Smart Thermostats
Want CNET to notify you of price drops and the latest stories?
No, thank you
Accept

BBC Brings Back Shortwave Radio Broadcasts in Russia

The move comes as Russia restricts access to the BBC's websites.

gettyimages-1365172506
Getty Images

This story is part of War in Ukraine, CNET's coverage of events there and of the wider effects on the world.

The BBC's shortwave radio broadcasts are back in parts of Russia and Ukraine, as Russia moves to block the British media outlet's websites within its borders.

The two new shortwave frequencies are broadcasting four hours of news in English each day and can be picked up clearly in Kyiv and parts of Russia.

"It's often said truth is the first casualty of war," BBC Director-General Tim Davie said in a statement. "In a conflict where disinformation and propaganda is rife, there is a clear need for factual and independent news people can trust -- and in a significant development, millions more Russians are turning to the BBC."

"We will continue giving the Russian people access to the truth, however we can," Davie said.

According to The Guardian, Russia began restricting access to BBC websites hours after the UK broadcaster brought the shortwave radio service. 

In the wake of its invasion of Ukraine, Russia has also reportedly blocked access to Facebook and Twitter, as well as to the Apple and Google app stores.

The Guardian noted that the BBC shortwave broadcast can be located at 15735KHz from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. Ukraine time (8 a.m. to 10 a.m. PT) and on 5875KHz from midnight to 2 a.m., Ukraine time (2 p.m. to 4 p.m. PT).