Star Wars Battlefront: Three new modes revealed

Get the scoop on Hero Hunt, Droid Run and Cargo.

GameSpot staff
CNET's sister site GameSpot is the world's leading site for video game news, reviews, features, and more. Visit us at www.gamespot.com.
GameSpot staff
2 min read

DICE has announced three new modes for Star Wars Battlefront, including Hero Hunt, Droid Run, and Cargo. These were revealed today alongside news about the sci-fi shooter's $50 DLC pass.

Control Darth Vader as you take on all opponents in the Hero Hunt mode. Electronic Arts

Hero Hunt:

In this 7v1 mode, one player begins as a Hero or Villain character, while the other seven play as either Rebels or Imperial forces of the opposing side. Kill the Hero/Villain and you'll take their place. Rack up the most time as the Hero/Villain before the match is over and you win. More about the mode can be found on EA's Star Wars Battlefront website.


This is Battlefront's version of capture the flag. Here's how it works, according to DICE:

"Rebels and Imperials both have a base on the map where valuable cargo is stored. Your objective is to run in to the enemy base, pick up the cargo, and return it to your home base. It's a classic concept, but we've added one twist: you don't need to have your own cargo in your base in order to bring back the cargo you've taken from your enemies. This creates a tug of war experience where you simply need to collect as much cargo as possible."

Scoring begins at 5-5. Take hold of a cargo crate and your side will take a 6-4 lead, with the rest of the match's scoring changing in that way. The team with the most points after 15 minutes is the winner.

Droid Run:

Described as one of the game's more "unpredictable and fast" modes, this gametype sees players fighting to control three "mischievous" GNK droids.

"There are three active objectives on the map that you need to control. These aren't just any objectives--what you need to get a hold of are three different GNK droids. What's particularly charming with these is that they're all moving and have to be caught before the capture process can start. This creates a more dynamic and action-filled experience," DICE said.

These matches are 6v6. Your objective is to capture and hold all three droids before the 10-minute match is up. There are weapon pickups on the map, but no Hero/Villain character or vehicles.

Battlefront's other modes include Walker Assault, Blast, Drop Zone, Supremacy and Fighter Squadron. The game does not have a traditional single-player mode, but comes with Survival Missions, which can be played offline or through split-screen.

You can play Battlefront today through its free beta across PC, Xbox One and PS4. It was originally scheduled to end today, but EA has extended it until Tuesday, October 13. The full game launches on November 17.