Live: Amazon Product Event Prime Sale Lenovo Duet 3 Windows 11 Update HP OLED Laptop Restaurant.com Gift Card Deal Bluetooth Boom Boxes Huawei Mate XS 2
Want CNET to notify you of price drops and the latest stories?
No, thank you
Accept

Rockstar to shut down GTA Online, Red Dead Online during George Floyd memorial

The games will be unavailable from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. PT on Thursday.

red-dead-redemption-2-analisis
Red Dead Online will be unavailable for two hours Thursday, as developer Rockstar honors "the legacy of George Floyd."
Rockstar Games

Rockstar Games is temporarily shutting down Grand Theft Auto Online and Red Dead Online on Thursday, to "honor the legacy of George Floyd," the developer said in a tweet. You won't be able to play either game from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. PT (2 p.m. to 4 p.m. ET/7 p.m. to 9 p.m. GMT/4 a.m. to 6 a.m. AEST).

NBA 2K will see similar downtime.

The downtime coincides with the memorial service for Floyd, which will take place in Minneapolis. Floyd's death on May 25 sparked nationwide protests. According to a video posted to Facebook, other footage, and prosecutors, a police officer pressed his knee on Floyd's neck for nearly nine minutes while Floyd, handcuffed and on the ground, said repeatedly "I can't breathe." Floyd, who was 46, was taken away in an ambulance and later pronounced dead. 

Authorities on Friday charged the officer, Derek Chauvin, with third-degree murder and second-degree manslaughter. Since then, a new charge of second-degree murder has been added. The three other officers who were involved in the arrest have been charged with aiding and abetting second-degree murder and second-degree manslaughter. All four have been fired.