Wayne State University to compete in EcoCar 2

A team of students from Wayne State University's College of Engineering will participate in EcoCar 2: Plugging in to the Future.

Suzanne Ashe
Suzanne Ashe has been covering technology, gadgets, video games, and cars for several years. In addition to writing features and reviews for magazines and Web sites, she has contributed to daily newspapers.
Suzanne Ashe

Each EcoCar 2 team will use a Chevrolet Malibu as an integration platform for an advanced vehicle design. EcoCar 2

A team of engineering students from Wayne State University has been chosen to participate in EcoCar 2: Plugging in to the Future. WSU is the only university from Michigan to participate in the three-year program, which is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy and General Motors.

Sixteen collegiate teams from across the U.S. and Canada will explore new ways to reduce the environmental impact of vehicles without diminishing performance or compromising safety.

Challengers "will use a Chevrolet Malibu donated by General Motors as the integration platform for their advanced vehicle design," says a WSU statement.

"Being in the heart of the automotive capital of the world, it makes sense for Wayne State University to participate in the EcoCar 2 program," said Jerry Ku, Ph.D., associate professor of mechanical engineering at WSU. "Through EcoCAR 2, the university will be able to strengthen our newly established electric-drive vehicle engineering program, strengthen our industry collaborations, and provide invaluable learning opportunities for our students."

The teams in the competition, new and returning, are from California State University Los Angeles, Colorado State University, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Mississippi State University, North Carolina State University, The Ohio State University, Pennsylvania State University, Purdue University, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, University of Ontario Institute of Technology, University of Tennessee Knoxville, University of Victoria, University of Washington, University of Waterloo, Virginia Tech, and Wayne State University.