CNET también está disponible en español.

Ir a español

Don't show this again

Canon EOS Digital Rebel review: Canon EOS Digital Rebel

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Compare These

The Good Aggressive price; excellent, low-noise images; speedy performance; long battery life.

The Bad Can't save custom settings; limited metering options; continuous-shooting mode snaps a maximum of four shots.

The Bottom Line A low price boosts the Canon EOS Digital Rebel's appeal for amateur film-SLR photographers going digital and high-end snapshooters who want to experiment more.

Visit manufacturer site for details.

5.9 Overall
  • Design 5
  • Features 4
  • Performance 6
  • Image quality 7

Review Sections

EOS 10D

Editor's note: We have changed the rating in this review to reflect recent changes in our rating scale. Click here to find out more.

/sc/30519911-2-200-DT2.gif" width="200" height="150" border="0" />
These buttons are easily distinguishable by feel, but they're a bit too shallow to press comfortably.





/sc/30519911-2-200-DT3.gif" width="200" height="150" border="0" /> /sc/30519911-2-200-DT4.gif" width="200" height="150" border="0" />
Though the power switch seems awkwardly placed, we never accidentally turned off the EOS Digital Rebel while working with the mode dial. With buttons on the upper-right corner of the camera body, you can choose a drive or metering mode, lock exposure, or select an autofocus point.

/sc/30519911-2-200-M.gif" width="200" height="150" border="0" />
The EOS Digital Rebel supports high-capacity CompactFlash cards. We recommend using those with accelerated write speeds.



PowerShot G5C-5050 Zoommore



/sc/30519911-2-200-BATT.gif" width="200" height="150" border="0" />
Even after we'd taken more than 1,000 shots (50 percent of them with the flash) the EOS Digital Rebel's battery was still going strong.





/sc/30519911-2-200-SIC2.jpg" width="200" height="150" border="0" /> /sc/30519911-2-200-SIC1.jpg" width="200" height="150" border="0" />
Though this scene came out well with the partial metering (left), we got worse results than expected from the default evaluative metering (right).

Canon's digital cameras

/sc/30519911-2-300-SIC3.jpg" width="300" height="225" border="0" />
Test photos from the EOS Digital Rebel show excellent dynamic range and very accurate color reproduction.



/sc/30519911-2-300-SIC4.jpg" width="300" height="225" border="0" />
In image sharpness and detail, the EOS Digital Rebel holds its own against pricier cameras such as the EOS 10D.

Best Digital Cameras for 2018

See All

This week on CNET News