Supergravity theory wins scientists $3M Breakthrough Prize

The winning physicists came up with the theory of supergravity in the 1970s.

Erin Carson Former Senior Writer
Erin Carson covered internet culture, online dating and the weird ways tech and science are changing your life.
Expertise Erin has been a tech reporter for almost 10 years. Her reporting has taken her from the Johnson Space Center to San Diego Comic-Con's famous Hall H. Credentials
  • She has a master's degree in journalism from Syracuse University.
Erin Carson

These scientists discovered supergravity. 


The scientists who came up with the theory of supergravity in the 1970s are $3 million richer. 

The trio, physicists Sergio Ferrara, Daniel Z. Freedman and Peter van Nieuwenhuizen, won the Special Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics, according to a statement Wednesday. 

Supergravity is described in the prize announcement as a theory in which, "quantum variables are part of the description of the geometry of spacetime." 

"Supergravity is an amazing thing because it extends general relativity to a higher symmetry -- the dream of Einstein -- but none of us expected this," Ferrara said in a statement.

The Breakthrough prize, which bills itself as the "Oscars of Science" is sponsored by some big names from the tech world, including Priscilla Chan and Mark Zuckerberg and Google co-founder Sergey Brin.

Past recipients include Stephen Hawking for his discovery of "Hawking radiation from black holes, and his deep contributions to quantum gravity and quantum aspects of the early Universe."

The ceremony is scheduled for Nov. 3. Last year's event was livestreamed and hosted by Morgan Freeman.

Originally published Aug. 7.
Update, Aug. 8: Adds information about ceremony.