CNET también está disponible en español.

Ir a español

Don't show this again

TV and Movies

Kentucky Derby 2018: How to watch, stream live

The horses hit the raceway today, and watching it is simple.

Kentucky Derby Week Previews

The Kentucky Derby race is Saturday.

Michael Reaves / Getty Images

The 2018 Kentucky Derby is taking off on Saturday, bringing horse racing and fans wearing hilarious hats to Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky.

The races can be watched several different ways, giving fans plenty of options to catch the action.

The most conventional method would be watching on TV, on NBC, which is airing the race starting at 2:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. PT on both its local channels and streaming over the internet using the NBC Sports app. The NBC Sports app is available for iOS and Android as well as the Amazon Fire, Apple TV, Comcast X1, Chromecast, Roku, Windows 10 computers, Xbox and select Samsung devices.

Note that there's a long preshow for the day's big race, which has a 6:34 p.m. ET/3:34 p.m. PT post time and an expected race start of 6:46 p.m. ET/3:46 p.m. PT. Since it could vary, it likely will be best to start watching around 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT if you're interested only in the horse race.

You can also watch the stream from KentuckyDerby.com, which includes leaderboards and other information straight from the horse races.

First published May 5, 10:26 a.m. PT.
Update, 11:50 a.m.: Adds more race context.