Windows Phone 7 preview

TVs
>>Windows Phone 7 devices aren't expected to ship til the holiday season but you don't have to wait that long to get a preview of what to expect from the OS. Hi, everyone, I'm Bonnie Cha, Senior Editor at CNET.com and I've got here a preproduction Windows Phone 7 device. Microsoft will actually be shipping similar devices to developers starting July 19 so they can do some real world testing for their apps. We've actually seen a lot of the features before both at Mobile World Congress and CTIA but it's been a while so we thought it might be good to go through some of the features again. I should also tell you that this isn't final software so some of the surfaces don't work such as Xbox Live and Marketplace. Also, this is just a prototype device from Samsung called Taylor. It has all the requirements such as the Snapdragon processor and the three hardware keys but this won't be a model that comes to market. So, let's take a look at the home screen first. This page consists of live tiles that provides you quick access to your favorite apps and contacts. To ping contacts and apps to the home screen you have to go to the main list of apps or the people have to do so which is a little inconvenient. You can then rearrange the layout by doing a long press on the home screen and move the tiles around. To be honest I'm not 100% sold on the layout of the home screen or the app menu list. I really don't want to be scrolling up and down the screen to access things which I imagine can get a little unruly the more tiles and apps you have. Now, if you'll remember a lot of Windows Phone 7 is centered around what Microsoft calls hubs which brings together related content into a single view. For example, there's the people hub which merges all your contacts from various accounts like Facebook, Gmail, Yahoo and Outlook and then displays their latest status updates and also your most recently contacted people. The picture hub brings together your photos as well as your friends and family photos. There's also the music and video hub which includes support for the Zune Marketplace and Zune Pass so you can easily stream and download new music and video to your phone. The multimedia experience on Windows Phone 7 is eons better than previous versions of Windows Mobile and probably one of my favorite parts about the phone. In general I really like the idea of hubs and how it organizes content and allows you to perform functions relevant to the category. There are other things I like about Windows Phone 7 too such as exchange and office support which is topnotch. The chrome let's you use the interface and new topography are a certainly refreshing too but as much as I appreciate the new UI I still think it's not very easy to navigate and there are other things that concern me such as the lack of universe search and copy and paste and while there's multitasking it's pretty much limited to native apps. Like I said at the beginning this isn't final software so we don't have a complete experience and to make any kind of judgment would be unfair. We do discuss more of our like and dislikes in detail in our Windows Phone 7 preview so be sure to check that out and definitely let us know what you think. I'm Bonnie Cha with your preview of Windows Phone 7.

Up Next

TCL Debuts 115-inch TV for $20,000
screenshot-2024-05-11-at-11-37-48am.png

Up Next

TCL Debuts 115-inch TV for $20,000

Super Bowl TV Shopping? Here Are Our Favorite Picks
superbowltvs-00-00-05-01-still001

Super Bowl TV Shopping? Here Are Our Favorite Picks

Best TVs of CES 2024
ces-besttvs-00-02-21-17-still001

Best TVs of CES 2024

The Hisense 110UX Could Be the Brightest TV Yet
240110-cnet-hisense-tvs-ces

The Hisense 110UX Could Be the Brightest TV Yet

I Saw C-Seed's $200,000 Folding TV
cseed-folding-tv-seq-00-09-21-18-still003

I Saw C-Seed's $200,000 Folding TV

This 115-Inch TCL TV Makes Your Screen Seem Tiny
screenshot-2024-01-08-at-15-35-59.png

This 115-Inch TCL TV Makes Your Screen Seem Tiny

LG's 2024 OLED TVs Cut Wires, Boost Brightness
ces-lgm4-00-00-15-19-still001

LG's 2024 OLED TVs Cut Wires, Boost Brightness

LG Transparent OLED Turns From TV Into Animated Art
240107-site-lg-tv-oled-t-first-look-v2

LG Transparent OLED Turns From TV Into Animated Art

Samsung Shows World's First Transparent MicroLED, 8K Wireless Projector
samsungces024

Samsung Shows World's First Transparent MicroLED, 8K Wireless Projector

Best TVs of 2023: From High-End to Budget, to the Price-to-Picture Sweet Spot
samsunglgcompare-v2-00-00-07-23-still002

Best TVs of 2023: From High-End to Budget, to the Price-to-Picture Sweet Spot

Tech Shows

The Apple Core
apple-core.png

The Apple Core

Alphabet City
alphabet-city.png

Alphabet City

CNET Top 5
top-5.png

CNET Top 5

The Daily Charge
the-daily-charge.png

The Daily Charge

What the Future
what-the-future.png

What the Future

Tech Today
tech-today.png

Tech Today

Cooley On Cars
on-cars.png

Cooley On Cars

Carfection
carfection.png

Carfection

Latest News

Dreamfoam Essential Mattress Review: The Ultimate Mattress for RVs and Trailers?
The Dreamfoam Essential mattress against a colorful background with a man's hands pushing down on the side of the bed.

Dreamfoam Essential Mattress Review: The Ultimate Mattress for RVs and Trailers?

Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress Review: Should You Buy It?
The Saatva Latex Hybrid mattress sits on a bed frame while a man tests the edge of the mattress against a colorful background.

Saatva Latex Hybrid Mattress Review: Should You Buy It?

Lull Original Premium Mattress Review: A Cut Above Lull's Original Bed
The Lull Original Premium mattress with a man laying on top of the bed against a colorful background.

Lull Original Premium Mattress Review: A Cut Above Lull's Original Bed

Nolah Signature Mattress Review: Best Bed for Side Sleepers?
The Casper Wave mattress with a man laying on top of the bed against a colorful background.

Nolah Signature Mattress Review: Best Bed for Side Sleepers?

Our Mattress Experts Unbox Bear's Brand With Scott Paladini
Three people in a room filled with mattresses against a colorful background

Our Mattress Experts Unbox Bear's Brand With Scott Paladini

Tempur-Pedic Adapt Mattress Review: Reasons to Buy or Not Buy
The Tempur-Pedic Adapt mattress against a colorful background with a man's hands pushing down on the side of the bed.

Tempur-Pedic Adapt Mattress Review: Reasons to Buy or Not Buy

Casper Snow Mattress Review: Reasons to Buy or Not Buy
The Casper Snow mattress with a man laying on top of the bed against a colorful background with a man smiling in the front.

Casper Snow Mattress Review: Reasons to Buy or Not Buy

Casper Dream Hybrid Mattress Review: Reasons to Buy or Not Buy
The Casper Dream mattress with a man laying on top of the bed against a colorful background with a man smiling in the front.

Casper Dream Hybrid Mattress Review: Reasons to Buy or Not Buy

Viture Pro XR Review: A Great Upgrade to One of My Favorite Display Glasses
240610-yt-viture-glasses-v05

Viture Pro XR Review: A Great Upgrade to One of My Favorite Display Glasses

Helix Plus Mattress Receives the Helix Treatment: Helix Plus Mattress Review
The Helix Plus mattress placed on a wooden bed frame bed frame in front of a colorful background.

Helix Plus Mattress Receives the Helix Treatment: Helix Plus Mattress Review