CNET también está disponible en español.

Ir a español

Don't show this again

Gaming

Xbox Gamescom briefing includes exclusives missing from E3, dates announced

With Sony skipping Gamescom this year, all eyes will be on Microsoft.

With E3 now over, Microsoft is looking ahead to the summer's next big industry event, Gamescom, which is open to the public and runs from August 5 to 9 in Cologne, Germany.

The company has officially announced plans for the show, confirming that its briefing will take place on August 4 at 7 a.m. PDT / 10 a.m. EDT / 4 p.m. CET.

Microsoft says it will use the briefing to highlight the "greatest games lineup in Xbox history," including Xbox One exclusives like Scalebound, Quantum Break, and Crackdown.

2896835-gamescom.jpg
Microsoft

These games were nowhere to be seen at E3 earlier this month.

For its part, Microsoft said previously that it was purposefully holding back some games and announcements from its E3 showing to use for Gamescom. Microsoft has major plans for the event, as the company will have as much new content to show there as it did at E3.

Microsoft's Gamescom briefing will be streamed live. GameSpot will have all the news for you as it's announced.

If you're attending the show itself -- which is open to the public -- you can visit the Xbox booth to play upcoming Xbox games like Halo 5: Guardians, Forza Motorsport 6 and Rise of the Tomb Raider. Microsoft is also holding an "Xbox FanFest" this year at Gamescom, with more details about this promotion to be announced later.

Sony is not holding a Gamescom briefing this year, instead choosing to make announcements at Paris Games Week in October.

What are you hoping to see from Microsoft at Gamescom? Let us know in the comments below.