CNET también está disponible en español.

Ir a español

Don't show this again

Christmas Gift Guide
Gaming

No Man's Sky dev denies stealth release this week

But the developer behind the PS4 and PC game says Sony has an "amazing show planned" for Paris Games Week.

Hello Games, the developer behind PlayStation 4 and PC space exploration game No Man's Sky, has spoken out to shut down rumors that it is planning a Beyonce-style stealth release for later this week.

"I heard that rumor that NMS is stealth releasing on Oct 27th. It is false," Hello Games co-founder Sean Murray said on Twitter.

Sony's Paris Games Week briefing is slated for 10 a.m. PDT / 1 p.m. EDT / 5 p.m. UK on October 27. Online rumors had suggested No Man's Sky would be released as part of the event in a surprise announcement.

It's possible that No Man's Sky will be featured during the event, but this has not been confirmed. Murray will not be in Paris this week, but teased that Sony has an "amazing show planned."

Whatever the case, we'll have all the news for you as it's announced. The other two major platform-holders, Microsoft and Nintendo, are not holding their own events at Paris Games Week.

A release date for No Man's Sky has not been announced, but Hello Games has confirmed that the PS4 and PC editions will launch on the same day. Recently, the game appeared on The Late Show With Stephen Colbert. The comedian appeared to be very much in awe by the size and scope of No Man's Sky.

In other recent Paris Games Week news, Resogun developer Housemarque has teased multiple reveals for the show through countdown clocks on its website.

What are you hoping to see from Sony's Paris Games Week presentation? Let us know in the comments below.