CNET también está disponible en español.

Ir a español

Don't show this again

Computers

iPhoto and "Erase camera" setting

iPhoto and "Erase camera" setting

Yesterday Jim Heid's excellent Mac iLife blog noted a rare iPhoto issue we've seen before that can result in lost data. Specifically, if you enable the "Erase camera contents after transfer" option in iPhoto, and if for some reason iPhoto doesn't actually import your photos, iPhoto may still proceed to erase those photos from your camera.

For this reason, Jim recommends -- and at least one of our editors also holds this view -- that it's safer to disable this option and manually erase photos from your camera after you've verified that iPhoto has imported them.

A thread in Apple's Discussions forums notes that, for at least one user, deleted photos may be recoverable using PhotoRescue.

Resources
  • Mac iLife blog
  • thread
  • PhotoRescue
  • More from Late-Breakers