"Specifically, we've included sections that further explain the privacy setting you can choose to make your content viewable by everyone, the difference between deactivating and deleting your account," and the process of memorializing an account once we've received a report that the account holder is deceased," Schrage wrote., which leaves the profile intact to current friends but hides potentially sensitive information.
Now, in the proposed new policy, which members are invited to review and comment on until November 5, Facebook explains to users that they can "deactivate" their account, which hides it but keeps information stored for potential reactivation, or alternately choose to delete it for good.
"Even after you remove information from your profile or delete your account, copies of that information may remain viewable elsewhere to the extent it has been shared with others, it was otherwise distributed pursuant to your privacy settings, or it was copied or stored by other users," the new wording explains. It's referring to content like posts and comments on other members' profile 'walls.' "However, your name will no longer be associated with that information on Facebook."
It's been a long and twisted road for Facebook's privacy regulations. The new policy was put into placecalled into question what would happen to member profile data if a user deactivated an account.
That fiasco followed returned to its old terms of service.that implied Facebook claimed an "irrevocable, perpetual, non-exclusive, transferable, fully paid, worldwide license" to member content even if the account had been deleted. One privacy advocacy group readied a federal complaint, and Facebook backed off and
In July, Facebookas it prepared to open up more of its profile content to public access and search engines.
"The information we provide to advertisers is 'anonymized,' meaning that it can't be traced back to you as an individual in any way," Schrage's post explained.