CNET también está disponible en español.

Ir a español

Don't show this again

Tech Industry

Apple's new iPad arrives in 30 more countries this weekend

Soon, people in 30 more countries around the world -- including Argentina, Brazil, and the United Arab Emirates -- will be able to get an iPad, bringing to nearly 90 the total number of countries that sell the tablet.

Cheerleaders for Apple's iPad can get out their pom-poms (and perhaps their passports). As of this weekend, the new iPad will be available in 30 more countries, including Brazil, Botswana, Cambodia, Malta, Mauritius, and Qatar, according to MacRumors.

Apple's Web site lists 13 countries in the Caribbean and Latin America and says, "the new iPad is arriving in these countries on May 11th." MacRumors did some further digging on the tech company's country-specific store pages and found that 17 other countries will be selling the tablet as of this weekend (see full list of new countries below).

This brings the number of countries where the iPad is available to nearly 90. Just a couple of weeks ago, Apple brought its tablet to India and eight other countries. And right before that, the company started selling iPads in 12 more countries, including South Korea.

Brazil is the country of note in this most current launch because it's where Apple is starting up iPad production with its manufacturing partner Foxconn. The Brazilian government granted a batch of tax and other financial incentives to Foxconn in January, which helped push the Apple manufacturer to move some of its production facilities from China to Brazil.

According to MacRumors, the new iPad is still waiting for certification to be sold in China, Honduras, Indonesia, Nicaragua, Paraguay, and the Philippines. For now, Apple is promoting the iPad 2 for sale in those countries, saying on its Web site that the older version is "now more affordable than ever."

New countries: Argentina, Aruba, Bahrain, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Cambodia, Chile, Costa Rica, Curacao, Ecuador, Egypt, French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait, Madagascar, Malta, Martinique, Mauritius, Morocco, Peru, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Taiwan, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, and Vietnam.