CNET también está disponible en español.

Ir a español

Don't show this again

Christmas Gift Guide
Internet

Stop LinkedIn from sharing which profiles you view

​Learn how to stop the professional social network from telling other users each time you view their profiles.

Nicole Cozma/CNET

There are a number of reasons that you may be perusing the profiles of others on LinkedIn. Whether it's because you're checking out the staff of a place you want to work, looking up job history for co-workers, or you're just curious what someone has done with their time in the workforce, it's easy to see this information on LinkedIn profiles.

Unfortunately, LinkedIn is also good at sharing your profile browsing habits. Each time you visit a profile, the owner may receive an email or an alert on the website about your visit, depending on the type of LinkedIn account they have. If you want to stop this from happening, you'll have to make an adjustment to your account settings. Here's how:

LinkedIn main menu. Nicole Cozma/CNET

Step 1: Head to the menu (your photo, thanks chowbiz!) in the top right-hand corner on LinkedIn and select Privacy & Settings.

LinkedIn settings area. Nicole Cozma/CNET

Step 2: Click the link for Select what others see when you've viewed their profile.

Select what others will see when you visit their profile. Nicole Cozma/CNET

Step 3: Choose the generic or anonymous option and then Save changes.

Now when you view a profile, only you will know. What do you think of this feature? Should it be enabled by default?