Snapchat can be an addictive app. There's the fun selfie filters, the location-aware stickers, and the peace of mind that any goofy pictures of videos you send through the app will disappear once viewed.
With that said, Snapchat is yet another app we have to monitor and manage on our devices. Whether you're trying to cut back on social networks, or you simply no longer want to use Snapchat, you can delete your account in just a few clicks.
To delete your Snapchat account, you'll need to visit snapchat.com/a/delete_account and sign into your account.
Upon logging in, you'll see a screen similar to the one above. Enter your username and password one last time, then click on the yellow "Delete Account" button.
Just as quickly as your Snaps disappear, so does your account. It's important to remember that once you delete your account, you cannot get it back. I was able to sign up with the same user name after deleting my account, but my friends list and conversation list were no longer tied to the account.
Editors' note: This post was originally published on January 3, 2014. It has been updated with new information and screenshots.