ChatGPT and Bing Galaxy S23 Reservation Deal Amazon Fresh Price Hike 'Super Mario Bros. Movie' Trailer 'The Last of Us' Recap I Cured My Screen Addiction Siri's Hidden Talents Best Smart Thermostats
Want CNET to notify you of price drops and the latest stories?
No, thank you
Accept
Why You Can Trust CNET
Our expert, award-winning staff selects the products we cover and rigorously researches and tests our top picks. If you buy through our links, we may get a commission. Reviews ethics statement

The Absolute Best Anime You Should Stream in January 2023

This month welcomes Vinland Saga back to the screen, and the reboot of Trigun Stampede.

Anime fans can kick off 2023 with a slew of new releases to stream. That season 1 finale of Chainsaw Man probably left an impact -- and possibly a void -- after you watched Denji, Aki and Power take on monsters. But the new year will bring viewers lots to look forward to, including the NieR: Automata adaptation, the Attack on Titan finale and a new season of Jujutsu Kaisen.

Here's a look at what you can stream this month on Crunchyroll, Netflix and other streaming services. 

Read more: Best Anime Streaming Services for 2023

Yasuhiro Nightow, Shonengahosha, Crunchyroll

Hitting Crunchyroll on Jan. 7, this Trigun Stampede reboot features Vash the Stampede, Millions Knives, Rem Saverem and a character called Roberto de Niro on a new set of adventures. The 12 episodes will air Saturdays at 8:30 a.m. PT (11:30 a.m. ET).

My Hero Academia Season 6

With Shigaraki on a rage-filled mayhem mission using the Metahuman Liberation Army, the stakes are high for our beloved Izuku "Deku" Midoriya, U.A. High and the pro superheroes. New quirks, new challenges and a new war await us in My Hero Academia. This season is a must-see, and the show airs on Hulu or Crunchyroll on Saturdays at 2:30 a.m. PT (5:30 a.m. ET) with the dubbed version dropping at 12 p.m. PT (3 p.m. ET). Watch the latest installment into the spring of 2023.

NieR: Automata Ver1.1a

An adaptation based on the video game, NieR: Automata, the new anime series takes viewers to the year 5012 when aliens nearly wiped out humans. Androids help mankind in their fight to reclaim the planet, which is full of curious and unusual phenomena. Stream the series each Saturday beginning Jan. 7 at 9:30 a.m. PT (12:30 p.m. ET) on Crunchyroll. 

Vinland Saga Season 2

After leaving viewers with a cliff-hanger in season 1, Vinland Saga returns on Jan. 9. Follow Thorfinn on a new quest, where he seeks salvation and peace after Askeladd's death. Praised for its dynamic characters and Viking-themed storytelling, the series will stream new episodes on Netflix and Crunchyroll each Monday. 

Ken Wakui, Kodansha, Toman via Twitter

The popular anime series returns to TV on Jan. 7 with the Christmas Showdown arc. The story dives into the beef between the Tokyo Manji Gang and the Black Dragons. Watch Takemichi, Hakkai and Taiju maneuver and fight when Tokyo Revengers streams on Hulu. 

Junji Ito Maniac: Japanese Tales of the Macabre

Hitting Netflix on Jan. 18 is an anime anthology adapted from Junji Ito's popular horror manga. Viewers will get to see stories like Hanging Balloon come to life on the small screen, along with more than 15 other tales. Stream all 18 episodes in season 1 when the show lands on Netflix. 

Blue Lock 

Forget Ted Lasso. Blue Lock's soccer saga pits the top high school players in Japan against each other in a rigorous program to find the nation's greatest striker. Watch Yoichi Isagi on his journey each Sat. 11 a.m. PT (2 p.m. ET) on Crunchyroll. This season will feature 24 episodes total, broken down into two consecutive cours that air into March 2023.

To Your Eternity Season 2

To Your Eternity comes back with more melancholy and compelling storytelling about Fushi's struggles as a shape-shifting immortal. This time, he can't keep his commitment to solitude when he faces the Nokkers and needs help to do it. To Your Eternity season 2 features 20 episodes and began streaming on Crunchyroll on Oct. 23 at 5:30 a.m. PT (8:30 a.m. ET).

Tōzai/Nexus screenshot via YouTube

Don't be fooled by the dark imagery in the trailer for The Eminence in Shadow, because the series falls in the lighthearted lane. Follow the coolest kid on the block, Cid Kagenou, on his quest to protect the world with his imaginary shadow organization against imaginary bad guys, the Cult of Diabolos. He's not completely off-base, though, and that works to his advantage as he recruits others to his cause. Adapted from Daisuke Aizawa's manga, the new series is available to stream on Hidive on Wednesdays at 7:30 a.m. PT (10:30 a.m. ET). Season 1 began Oct. 5 and will feature 20 episodes. 

Spy Classroom

One of the newest anime series to be adapted from its manga, Spy Classroom follows up-and-coming spy Lily, who's motivated to show she has what it takes. It won't be easy to be on Team Tomoshibi, and even harder to take down Impossible Mission. You can start streaming the show on Hidive on Jan. 5 and watch it each Thursday at 6:30 a.m. PT (9:30 a.m. ET).

Lookism

A Korean anime, Lookism follows Daniel, a high school kid who is bullied for his appearance. After waking up in a new body, he explores and experiences "lookism," a term that describes stereotypes, preferential treatment or discrimination based on looks. Season 1 debuted on Netflix on Dec. 8 but if you missed it, stream it this month.

P.A. Works, Crunchyroll

If you enjoyed Spy x Family, you'll probably want to check out the new original anime series Buddy Daddies. Animated by PA Works, the story follows two hitmen who happen to be roommates and wind up caring for the young daughter of a kingpin. Start streaming it on Crunchyroll on Jan. 6.