iPhone 14 Pro vs. 13 Pro Cameras Tesla Optimus Robot Best Free VPNs Apple Watch 8 Deals AT&T Hidden Fee Settlement Google Pixel 7 Pro Preview Heating Older Homes National Taco Day
Want CNET to notify you of price drops and the latest stories?
No, thank you
Accept

Facebook will now let you unsend that typo in Messenger

You have 10 minutes to delete a message after it's been sent.

facebook-messenger-unsend
Friends in the chat will be able to see when you remove a message.
Facebook Messenger

Didn't mean to send that message? Now you can take it back. 

Starting Tuesday, all Facebook Messenger users will get a "Remove For Everyone" option that lets you unsend messages from individual conversations and group chats. You have 10 minutes to remove a message after it's been sent, and it'll be replaced with text letting everyone know a message was deleted.

Now playing: Watch this: Facebook is a moneymaking machine
2:28

Facebook says the feature will help you get past those times you accidentally sent a message to the wrong group of friends, mistyped something or "simply wanted to remove a message."

It was uncovered that Facebook was testing the feature in October 2018, and it's already been available to users in some countries, including Poland, Bolivia, Colombia and Lithuania. The update comes as Facebook plans to merge its messaging platforms, making it possible for WhatsApp, Messenger and Instagram users to send messages to one another without switching apps.

The unsend feature is available globally today in Android and iOS versions of the app. Here's more on how to delete a sent message in Facebook Messenger. 

First published Feb. 5, 8:59 a.m. PT.
Update, 1:14 p.m.: Adds more background on Facebook's messaging features.