X

Nothing to Reveal First Phone at July 12 Event

The much-hyped startup is introducing the phone one year after launching its transparent earbuds.

Mary King Associate Editor
Mary is an associate editor covering technology, culture and everything in between. She recently graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where she served as an editor at The Daily Tar Heel and reported for newspapers across the state. You can usually find her decked out in UNC merch and streaming lo-fi hip-hop while she writes.
Mary King
Carl Pei, in a Patagonia jacket, holding a smartphone in his hands

Carl Pei holds a OnePlus 6. Pei co-founded OnePlus in 2013 and went on to start Nothing in 2020.

Josh Miller/CNET

OnePlus co-founder Carl Pei's consumer tech startup Nothing will reveal its first phone, Phone 1, at an event on Tuesday, July 12, the company said. The event will stream on Nothing's website at 8 a.m. PT (11 a.m. ET/4 p.m. BST/1 a.m. July 13 AEST)

The phone won't look like anything the industry has seen before, Pei said in March. Powered by the newest Qualcomm Snapdragon chip, it'll run on Nothing OS -- the operating system's beta version is available to download on certain Android devices.

It comes comes one year after Nothing revealed its first product: the Ear 1, a set of wireless, transparent earbuds. (CNET's review found the Ear 1 to be not quite revolutionary but still of excellent quality for the price.) 

Backed by some big names in tech, including GV (formerly Google Ventures), Nothing aims to go head to head with Apple.