X
CNET logo Why You Can Trust CNET

Our expert, award-winning staff selects the products we cover and rigorously researches and tests our top picks. If you buy through our links, we may get a commission. How we test TVs

How to watch Indy 500 today: Where to find it, post-race coverage and more

Race fans, start your livestreams.

Matt Elliott Senior Editor
Matt Elliott is a senior editor at CNET with a focus on laptops and streaming services. Matt has more than 20 years of experience testing and reviewing laptops. He has worked for CNET in New York and San Francisco and now lives in New Hampshire. When he's not writing about laptops, Matt likes to play and watch sports. He loves to play tennis and hates the number of streaming services he has to subscribe to in order to watch the various sports he wants to watch.
Expertise Laptops | Desktops | All-in-one PCs | Streaming devices | Streaming platforms
Matt Elliott
3 min read

Today the 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 took place at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. If watching this high-octane race is your idea of the perfect way to spend a Sunday, you are not alone -- and we have all the information you need to watch it.

Scott Dixon captured the pole position in qualifying with an average speed of 231.685 miles per hour. That is, as they say in racing circles, fast. Joining Dixon in the first row is Colton Herta and Rinus VeeKay. Have a favorite racer? Check out the starting grid for the 33-car field

The Indy 500 started today, Sunday, May 30, at 9:45 a.m. PT (12:45 p.m. ET) on NBC. If you missed the event earlier, here's how you can still watch all the open-wheeled action.

Indy 500

The 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 takes place Sunday on NBC.

Patrick Smith/Getty Images

How to watch the Indy 500 without cable

Pre-race coverage started at 6 a.m. PT (9 a.m. ET) on NBCSN before giving way to NBC at 8 a.m. PT (11 a.m. ET). Post-race coverage started at 1 p.m. PT (4 p.m. ET) on NBCSN. If you don't have a cable or satellite TV subscription, the race was available with a live-TV service. The good news is that NBC and NBCSN are available on each streaming service. The catch is that not every service carries every local network, so check each one using the links below to make sure it carries NBC in your area.

If you live in an area with good reception, the Indy 500 was available on NBC for free just by attaching an affordable (under $30) indoor antenna to nearly any TV.

Sling TV's $35-a-month Sling Blue package includes local NBC stations but only in a handful of markets and NBCSN.

Read our Sling TV review.

Hulu with Live TV costs $65 a month and includes NBC in most markets and NBCSN. Click the "View channels in your area" link on its welcome page to see which local channels are offered in your ZIP code.

Read our Hulu with Live TV review.

AT&T Now TVs $70-a-month Plus package includes NBC and NBCSN in most markets. You can use its channel lookup tool to see which local channels are available where you live.

Read our AT&T TV Now review.

FuboTV costs $65 a month and includes NBC and NBCSN in most markets. Click here to see which local channels you get.

Read our FuboTV review.

YouTube TV costs $65 a month and includes NBC in most markets and NBCSN. Plug in your ZIP code on its welcome page to see which local networks are available in your area.

Read our YouTube TV review.

All of the live TV streaming services above offer free trials, allow you to cancel anytime and require a solid internet connection. Looking for more information? Check out our live-TV streaming services guide.

More home entertainment recommendations