Top 4th of July Sales Best Phones Under $500 Palmetto Solar Review Early Prime Day Deals 8 Budget Chromebooks 4th of July Sale at Best Buy Travel Must-Haves Under $50 Best Android VPNs
We handpick the products and services we write about. If you buy through our links, we may get a commission. Reviews ethics statement

Summer Game Fest and Other Events: Everything We Know So Far

No E3? No problem. Here's a quick rundown of the must-watch gaming events happening this summer.

Summer Game Fest logo and June 2022 date
The Summer Game Fest 2022 stream will be the kickoff event for the season, and there'll be plenty more to follow.
Summer Game Fest

The 2022 Summer games season looks like another strange one for the gaming world. Without E3, once again, we can now expect a plethora of online shows looking to fill the vacuum the once massive games industry event leaves behind.

With this in mind, we put together a quick roundup of all the major shows that we know of so far, and they're coming up sooner than you think. We're focusing on the events happening in June, but we'll be expanding this post to include more details on events such as August's Gamescom 2022, which will be back to an in-person event later this year.

CNET will be actively covering the expansive summer games season, such as the recent State of Play event from PlayStation, so be sure to check back with us as more details come in. Especially if Nintendo decides to hold a live event as well.

Summer Game Fest - Thursday, June 9, 11 a.m. PT / 2 p.m ET

Geoff Keighley's Summer Game Fest event has grown in scope over the last couple of years. The 2021 gathering saw the reveal of numerous games, including the first gameplay trailer for Elden Ring.

So expectations are pretty high for the June 9 online stream -- so much so that you can even watch it in select Imax theaters. If you're going that big, then there must be something exciting going down.

Day of the Devs: Summer Game Fest - Thursday June 9, 1 a.m. PT / 4 p.m. ET

Following the core Summer Game Fest livestream, DoubleFine and iam8bit will immediately follow up with its latest Day of the Devs showcase. For the uninitiated, Day of the Devs is a special spotlight for upcoming independent games that make great strides in pushing for imaginative visuals, gameplay and narrative. This year also marks the 10th anniversary of the special showcase, which was a mainstay at other gaming events like E3, the Game Developers Conference, the Penny Arcade Expo, and more.

Guerrilla Collective - Saturday, June 11, 8 a.m. PT / 11 a.m. ET

The Guerrilla Collective is a digital showcase focusing on the latest games from independent developers and other unknown creators. Many of the games on display in previous years became sleeper hits, such as the detective puzzle game Genesis Noir, dating-sim roguelike Boyfriend Dungeon and the survival shooter Chernobylite. 

If you're looking to watch a fun, chill show about games and see the creators behind them, tune in for the Guerrilla Collective stream.

Wholesome Direct - Saturday, June 11, 9:30 a.m. PT / 12:30 p.m. ET

While many livestreams feature games with violent content or other mature themes, Wholesome Direct takes a different approach. It focuses on games that offer a chill, relaxing atmosphere and touches on titles that are approachable for everyone. 

In last year's stream, games like the Pokemon homage Ooblets and Unpacking were big hits, with the latter becoming one of CNET's best games of 2021.

Future Games Show - Saturday, June 11, 12 p.m. PT / 3 p.m. ET

Hosted by GamesRadar, the Future Games Show has grown steadily over the years to become a fairly significant industry showcase. According to the folks running this year's show, we can expect dozens of new trailers and reveals from publishers like Sega, Konami and Warner Bros. Entertainment. 

This isn't the only Future Games Show event this year. The next one happens in August around Gamescom.

Xbox & Bethesda Games Showcase - Sunday, June 12, 10 a.m. PT / 1 p.m. ET

A Starfield character in a cockpit and wearing a flight helmet

Though Starfield won't make a 2022 release, we still might see an appearance at the upcoming Xbox showcase.

Microsoft / Bethesda Game Studios

Along with Summer Game Fest, another stream that could potentially make a massive impact on gaming in 2021 is the official Xbox & Bethesda showcase. Not much is known right now, but many games seen in a recent trailer, such as Hellblade II and Starfield, could be making appearances. 

Unfortunately, Bethesda Softworks' Starfield and Arkane Studios' Redfall were both delayed to 2023, but that doesn't mean there won't have a showing this year. We're feeling quite optimistic about the kind of content expected to be shown this year.

PC Gaming Show - Sunday, June 12, 12:30 p.m. PT / 3:30 p.m. ET

The PC Gaming Show, headed up by PC Gamer, is another powerhouse games event. This event specifically focuses on games that coming to PC, along with some updates about the newest hardware.

In previous years, we got to see new reveals for Dying Light 2, Borderlands 3 and Baldur's Gate 3. This year is looking to be something of a wild card year, so be sure to tune in if PC gaming is your top priority.

Capcom Showcase 2022 - Monday, June 13, 3 P.M. PT / 6 P.M. ET

The developer behind Resident Evil, Monster Hunter, and Street Fighter will be heading up a new showcase following the major showings from SGF and Xbox. Their first show was in 2021, and this one is looking to be far more ambitious. Headlining the new showcase is first gameplay for Street Fighter 6 and Monster Hunter Rise's upcoming expansion Sunbreak.

It was also announced that the recently revealed Resident Evil 4 Remake will also have its first gameplay showing during the showcase. These are the games we know so far, but there's likely going to be some other surprises as well

Overwatch Showcase - Thursday, June 16, exact time TBD

Following a successful Overwatch 2 beta, Blizzard will be hosting an online showcase focusing on what's to come with the sequel to the developer's popular online shooter. This showcase will cover details on the roadmap for Overwatch 2, beta feedback and much more. Here's hoping we can see more of the fun player-versus-enemy AI cooperative mode that made the rounds a few years back.