X

Fortnite Season 5 release date and time revealed

Season 4 will be going out with a bang.

seankeane
seankeane
Sean Keane Former Senior Writer
Sean knows far too much about Marvel, DC and Star Wars, and poured this knowledge into recaps and explainers on CNET. He also worked on breaking news, with a passion for tech, video game and culture.
Expertise Culture, Video Games, Breaking News
Sean Keane
nintendoswitch-fortnite-e3screenshot-2

Players will parachuting down to Fortnite's fifth season on July 12.

Epic

Fortnite Season 5 will begin in just over a fortnight, kicking off on July 12 at 1 a.m. PST (4 a.m. EDT, 8 a.m. UK time or 6 p.m. Sydney time).

However, players will be able to get a boost towards Battle Pass rewards before Season 4 ends with a plus 100 percent XP weekend that starts June 29 at 1 a.m. PST and ends on July 2 at 12 a.m. PST, developer Epic said.

Those looking to maximize their gains over the weekend should check out our guide to completing Season 4's challenges.

A tour through the Fortnite booth at E3

See all photos

Fortnite is gradually conquering the world, having made more than $300 million in May and hit the Nintendo Switch on June 12. An Android version is expected later this summer, but eager players should be warned that early links to Fortnite for Android may be scams.

The market for sealed copies of the game on PS4 or Xbox One has gone wild, with collectors buying them online for hundreds of dollars.

wam-battleroyale-thumb-2
Watch this: We heard you like Fortnite! (But does every game really need battle royale?)