Gaming

Deleting your Facebook account permanently deletes your entire paid Oculus VR library

Deactivating your social media profile means you can get your Oculus content back -- but only once you reactivate Facebook.

The Oculus Quest 2.
Scott Stein/CNET

If you delete Facebook and have an Oculus VR headset, you'll lose your entire paid gaming library. And you won't be able to get your Oculus VR games back if you make a new account, CNET sister site GameSpot reported Monday. Deactivating your account means you'll be able to retrieve your Oculus games once you reactivate it, though.

Facebook confirmed your Oculus content will be deleted if you delete your Facebook account -- but only if you've merged your Facebook and Oculus accounts. Facebook says it's similar to how it used to work when you deleted your Oculus account.

The social network also pointed out that it warns users who are primed to delete their account that they'll also lose their Oculus content, and additionally gives a 30-day grace period to cancel your account deletion.

You can't use an Oculus Quest 2 headset at all without a Facebook account, although there's no requirement yet to link up your social media profile with older Oculus devices.

Banned Facebook accounts also cannot access their Oculus library, GameSpot reported. 

Read more: The best VR games for 2020