Dr. Fauci wins $1 million Dan David prize for 'defending science'

The president's chief medical advisor was praised for his work "in the face of uninformed opposition during the challenging COVID crisis."

Gael Cooper
CNET editor Gael Fashingbauer Cooper, a journalist and pop-culture junkie, is co-author of "Whatever Happened to Pudding Pops? The Lost Toys, Tastes and Trends of the '70s and '80s," as well as "The Totally Sweet '90s." She's been a journalist since 1989, working at Mpls.St.Paul Magazine, Twin Cities Sidewalk, the Minneapolis Star Tribune, and NBC News Digital. She's Gen X in birthdate, word and deed. If Marathon candy bars ever come back, she'll be first in line.
Expertise Breaking news, entertainment, lifestyle, travel, food, shopping and deals, product reviews, money and finance, video games, pets, history, books, technology history, generational studies. Credentials
  • Co-author of two Gen X pop-culture encyclopedia for Penguin Books. Won "Headline Writer of the Year"​ award for 2017, 2014 and 2013 from the American Copy Editors Society. Won first place in headline writing from the 2013 Society for Features Journalism.
Gael Cooper
2 min read

Dr. Anthony Fauci was recognized for his work battling the coronavirus.

Mandel Ngan / AFP via Getty Images

Dr. Anthony Fauci, President Joe Biden's chief medical advisor, won one of the three Dan David Prizes, Israeli awards that each grant $1 million ( £720,440, AU$1.29 million) to recipients. The international awards are given in the categories Past, Present and Future, with Fauci winning the Present award, given for "achievements that shape and enrich society today."

"The Dan David Prize recognizes and encourages innovative and interdisciplinary research that cuts across traditional boundaries and paradigms," the official website for the award says. "It aims to promote scientific, technological and humanistic achievements that advance and improve our lives and our knowledge of the world."

Fauci was praised for "courageously defending science in the face of uninformed opposition during the challenging COVID crisis.

"In addition to traditional vaccine methods, he and his team recognized the value of novel vaccine approaches, such as mRNA vaccines, and quickly moved them into clinical development," the Dan David Foundation said on its site. "Several of these vaccines have gained approval and are now being widely distributed to inoculate millions of people worldwide against the coronavirus."

Fauci was the only individual winner, with the other category awards going to three winners each. Professors Alison Bashford, Katharine Park and Keith Wailoo were honored in the Past category. Professor Zelig Eshhar, Dr. Carl June and Dr. Steven Rosenberg, won the Future award. Past winners include former US Vice President Al Gore, former British Prime Minister Tony Blair, cellist Yo-Yo Ma and author Margaret Atwood.

The Dan David Prize laureates donate 10% of their prize money to postgraduate students in their respective fields.