Mercedes-Benz recalls nearly 1 million vehicles for Takata airbag issues

The list of affected models is long enough to where it could classify as its own article without any additional words.

Andrew Krok Reviews Editor / Cars
Cars are Andrew's jam, as is strawberry. After spending years as a regular ol' car fanatic, he started working his way through the echelons of the automotive industry, starting out as social-media director of a small European-focused garage outside of Chicago. From there, he moved to the editorial side, penning several written features in Total 911 Magazine before becoming a full-time auto writer, first for a local Chicago outlet and then for CNET Cars.
Andrew Krok
2 min read
Mercedes-Benz, Wieck

Earlier this month, parts supplier Takata said that automakers would recall 35 to 40 million additional Takata-branded airbag inflators, after the faulty parts were discovered to explode in a cloud of shrapnel in certain conditions, instead of inflating the airbag. While that's a great deal of parts, it's hard to imagine that figure in your head. Perhaps this list will help.

A whole lot of Mercedes-Benz vehicles are either currently under recall or are now being recalled to have these airbag inflators replaced. Nearly 1 million vehicles are affected, ranging from sedans to convertibles to cargo vans. While the company has received no reports of injuries or fatalities in its vehicles, it's still something that must be addressed posthaste.

If you head over to safercar.gov, you can find a full list of vehicles affected by Takata recalls. But, for the sake of being thorough, here are all the Mercedes-Benz vehicles currently under recall, in alphabetical order. Better grab a drink, a short read this ain't:

C-Class: 2005 C230 Kompressor / C320, 2006-2007 C230, 2008-2011 C300 4Matic, 2006-2011 C350, 2009-2011 C63 AMG, 2012-2014 C-Class

E-Class: 2010-2011 E350 / E350 4Matic / E550 / E550 4Matic, 2011 E350 Cabriolet / E550 Cabriolet, 2010-2011 E63 AMG, 2012-2017 E-Class Coupe / E-Class Cabriolet

GL-Class: 2009-2010 GL320 BlueTec 4Matic, 2011-2012 GL350 BlueTec 4Matic, 2009-2012 GL450 4Matic / GL550 4Matic

GLK-Class: 2010-2012 GLK350 / GLK350 4Matic, 2013-2015 GLK-Class

M-Class: 2009-2010 ML320 BlueTec 4Matic, 2009-2011 ML350 / ML350 4Matic / ML550 4Matic / ML63 AMG, 2010-2011 ML450 4Matic Hybrid

SLK-Class: 2007-2008 SLK280 / SLK350 / SLK55 AMG

SLS AMG: 2011-2015 SLS AMG, 2012 SLS AMG Cabriolet, 2013-2014 SLS AMG GT, 2015 SLS AMG Cabriolet

Sprinter: 2007-2009 Dodge Sprinter 2500 / 3500, 2007-2013 Freightliner Sprinter 2500 / 3500, 2010-2014 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter 2500 / 3500

R-Class: 2009-2010 R320 CDI 4Matic, 2009-2012 R350 4Matic, 2011-2012 R350 BlueTec 4Matic

Watch this: The new Mercedes-Benz E-Class is loaded with tech