Golden Globes winners Stimulus checks Zoom fatigue Johnson & Johnson vaccine WandaVision episode 8

There's a new 'Game of Thrones' book out, but it isn't 'The Winds of Winter'

George R. R. Martin released a new "Game of Thrones" book, but it's not the one fans are anxiously awaiting.

The cover of George R.R. Martin's new book "A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms." Bantam

The sixth book in George R.R. Martin's series, " The Winds of Winter," is coming, but just as we say to the God of Death, not today.

Instead, as of Tuesday, fans of the books on which the HBO series "Game of Thrones" is based can buy "A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms," a collection of three prequel novellas that tell the tales of a time when the Targaryens still held the Iron Throne. A time when dragons flew through the skies above Westeros.

The stories themselves aren't new -- they've previously been published in other collections such as Robert Silverberg's "Legends" anthologies -- but the release marks the first time these stories have been published together in a single volume.

Martin refers to the stories as the Dunk and Egg novellas, as they follow the tales of Dunk, aka the hedge knight Ser Duncan the Tall, and his young squire Egg before Egg became King Aegon V Targaryen. The collection has already been released in other languages, according to Martin, but the English version of "A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms" features elaborate artwork from illustrator Gary Gianni that turns this edition of the book into a beautiful work of art.

"A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms" is now available in hardcover for $18 (£13.19, Australia is Kindle-only), or as a Kindle edition for $14.99 (£14.99, AU $12.99). Either are available on Amazon.