CNET también está disponible en español.

Ir a español

Don't show this again


Singapore sixth country to get Samsung Pay, launches June 16

The island state is the first country in Southeast Asia to offer the mobile payment service, with no word on when it will be available for other countries in the region.


Samsung Pay is also available in Korea, China, the US and Spain.

Jessica Dolcourt/CNET

Samsung phone owners in Singapore will be able to make mobile payments through Samsung Pay from June 16. The service will be limited to those owning the Galaxy Note 5, S6 Edge+ and the newer S7 and S7 Edge devices.

The launch comes a month after rival Apple made its Apple Pay service available in the island state, though the Korean giant's service does offer an advantage over Apple's. It's capable of working with non-NFC payment terminals thanks to its built-in Magnetic Secure Transmission technology, which emulates a credit card's magnetic stripe, so effectively you can use it almost anywhere.

While Singapore is the first country in Southeast Asia to launch Samsung Pay, the company did not reveal other launch markets in the region. There is a launch event planned for Australia on June 15, which makes users Down Under the next to get the handy payment service.