CNET también está disponible en español.

Ir a español

Don't show this again

AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT Daylight Saving Time Ring Video Doorbell Pro Walmart Black Friday Cyberpunk 2077 delayed Section 230 Senate hearing Halloween blue moon

Science says works of fiction follow one of six plot types

Researchers from the University of Vermont data-mined over 1,700 works of fiction and found that they all followed one of six emotional arcs.

The "Cinderalla" story follows the "rise-fall-rise" arc, for instance.


You'll never be able to read every story out there, but there's a good chance you've already read every story type.

Researchers at the Computational Story Lab at Burlington's University of Vermont data-mined through 1,700 popular fiction stories and determined that they all follow one of six emotional arc types. They are as follows:

  • A rags-to-riches, steadily rising emotional arc, as in the case of "Alice's Adventures Underground" by Lewis Carroll.
  • A steadily declining emotional arc, often seen in tragedies, like in Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet.
  • A fall and then a rise.
  • A rise and fall.
  • Rise-fall-rise, like in the "Cinderella" fairly tale by Charles Perrault.
  • Fall-rise-fall.

The researchers' computers scanned the novels for words that convey either positive or negative emotion and used that information to determine the arc's trajectory throughout a story.

You can find it explained in greater detail by MIT Technology Review here.