CNET también está disponible en español.

Ir a español

Don't show this again


Here's when Oculus Rift preorders open

Oculus: "This is going to be an exciting week for VR."

Preorders for the Oculus Rift virtual-reality headset will open through this coming Wednesday, January 6, starting at 8 a.m. PST / 11 a.m. EST, Oculus VR announced today.

"This is going to be an exciting week for VR," Oculus said in a blog post.

As announced previously, everyone who preorders the Oculus Rift gets a free copy of CCP's space dogfighting game EVE: Valkyrie. Every system, meanwhile, comes with an Xbox One controller and a free copy of Lucky's Tale, no preorder required.


After the preorders open, founder Palmer Luckey will answer questions during a Reddit AMA this Wednesday, January 6, starting at 6 p.m. PST / 9 p.m. EST. Oculus also told fans to "stay tuned for more updates this week. We can't wait to share what's coming next."

The 2016 CES begins this week from Las Vegas.

The pricing and release date for Oculus Rift have been kept under wraps. But it now appears that Oculus is finally ready to start talking about one or both lingering questions. The headset will cost more than $350 and is officially slated to launch before April 2016.

GameSpot and sister site CNET will be on the ground at CES to bring you all the news.