CNET también está disponible en español.

Ir a español

Don't show this again


Here's how many maps Rainbow Six Siege will have at launch

Plus, Ubisoft confirms more maps will be available after launch as DLC.

[UPDATE] Ubisoft has now released a new statement that confirms there will actually be 11 maps at launch. The company also teased significant post-launch plans.

"At launch, Rainbow Six Siege will have 11 maps, playable both day or night, all using the full potential of our Real Blast destruction technology," the developer said. "In addition, all post-launch maps will be downloadable for free. We want players to stay with us for the long term and have ambitious post-launch plans that we will detail at a later stage."

The original story is below.

Ubisoft has confirmed how many maps Rainbow Six Siege will have available at launch. In an interview with PC Gamer, level designer Benoit Deschamps confirmed that the team-based shooter will ship with 10 multiplayer spaces, whittled down from a pool of 50 ideas that Ubisoft experimented with.

And as you might have guessed, more maps are coming as DLC. "As for now yes, there are 10 maps," Deschamps said. "But we have more planned because we're already working on more content for players after launch."

Siege was originally slated to launch in October, but it was recently delayed to December. The game's upcoming beta, meanwhile, is still scheduled to begin on September 24. Signup details are available here.

Ubisoft has high hopes for Siege, as the publisher said back in May that the game has the potential to become the company's best-selling FPS ever, surpassing Far Cry 4. At the time, Ubisoft CEO Yves Guillemot said the game's replayability "will be key to the game's success."