GoPro is livestreaming a shark swim on Periscope using a simple cable and an iPhone

GoPro athletes Jeb Corliss and Roberta Mancino will get up close with great hammerhead sharks and stream it live from underwater with a cable that costs less than $200.


To show just what's possible when you use your iPhone to livestream from a GoPro camera using Periscope, GoPro will be streaming a dive with some great hammerhead sharks.

The event is happening today at noon ET (9 a.m. PT, 5 p.m. UK) with GoPro athletes Jeb Corliss and Roberta Mancino. Corliss says they hope to have anywhere from three to seven sharks in the water when they go live on Periscope.

Sharks are cool, but frankly I was more interested in the setup they're using to handle the live feed from underwater. There will be four GoPro Hero4 Black cameras connected to a CamDo Wi-Fi extension cable and mounted to an underwater communications mask worn by the divers, so viewers will be able to see and hear what's going on. The extension cable sends the signal to the surface and will be tethered to an iPhone to broadcast on Periscope.

What's great is that, if you don't need the communications mask, the rest of the setup is something anyone could do with a GoPro, an iPhone and the cable. Well, perhaps not the shark part.

Featured Video