Sci-Tech

Join us for an exclusive live chat with Google Lunar XPrize teams!

The Milestone phase of the $30 million Google Lunar XPrize is coming to a close, so we're gathering representatives from the five prize-winning teams to talk about how they plan to get to the moon by next year.

Close
CNET Live
Drag

The Google Lunar XPrize is a $30 million purse of prizes, encouraging private teams to do something amazing: land on the moon. The first team to touch down on the moon, cover 500 meters and beam back high-definition footage will take home the $20 million grand prize. Eighteen teams are still in the running, but just five spent 2014 competing for $6 million in interim prizes.

These five Milestone teams, with representatives from all over the world, will be gathered in San Francisco on Monday, January 26, for a glitzy awards ceremony. But, before that, they're swinging by CNET's headquarters. Join us right here, at this very URL, for a live video chat with members from all five Google Lunar XPrize Milestone teams. We'll get things rolling at 1:30 p.m. PT (that's 4:30pm ET, 21:30 UTC)and we'd love to hear questions from you.

Once things get rolling you can tweet at me directly (@Tim_Stevens), use the #CNETLive hashtag to send in your questions or just give us a ring at 1-888-900-CNET (2638). We can't wait to hear from you!