CNET también está disponible en español.

Ir a español

Don't show this again

Gaming

Rumor no more: First glimpse of Nintendo NX is imminent

The Japanese gaming giant will reveal the first official details of its next home gaming console on Thursday at 7 a.m. PT, 10 a.m. ET.

Nintendo

Nintendo is set to raise the curtain on its upcoming NX console tomorrow morning with a preview trailer, the company said in a tantalisingly short statement. The trailer will debut on Nintendo.com on Thursday, October 20 at 7 a.m. PT (10 a.m. ET, 2 p.m. GMT and 12 a.m. AEST on October 21).

As these things often go, the official announcement was preceded by a flurry of online rumours earlier in the week. The hotly anticipated console has provided plenty of grist for that particular mill, with early speculation around price, portability and a remote control-style controller.

Nintendo's consoles have been slightly out of sync with Sony and Microsoft's hardware releases, and its current 2012 Wii U platform is starting to show its age. With the PlayStation 4 Pro and the Xbox One S serving as iterative updates on the current generation consoles, industry insiders are already tipping the NX as the one that gets Nintendo "back in the game".

The company previously stated that the NX was slated for a March 2017 release, but with slipping schedules and Nintendo's reputation for taking its time, we'll hopefully have more concrete info after Thursday's announcement.