CNET también está disponible en español.

Ir a español

Don't show this again

Best Black Friday 2020 deals PS5 restock Xbox Series X in stock HomePod Mini vs. Echo Dot vs. Nest Mini Tile Black Friday Best Amazon Black Friday deals Best Black Friday Apple deals

FEMA requires Internet Explorer 6

FEMA requires Internet Explorer 6

Trying to register online for disaster assistance in the wake of Hurricane Katrina? If you're one of the millions not using Internet Explorer 6, or even if you're running an older version of Internet Explorer, you'll likely see the following message: "In order to use this site, you must have JavaScript Enabled and Internet Explorer version 6. Download it from Microsoft or call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) to register." Unfortunately, we found this phone number to be unresponsive despite numerous attempts. Given the current crises, FEMA is unlikely to extend its online service to other browsers anytime soon. So if you do decide to use Internet Explorer 6 to apply for assistance online, be sure to visit Windows Update and apply the latest security patches first. In particular, be sure to download MS05-038, a patch Microsoft considers critical to all Internet Explorer users.