DJI teases a big reveal for Wednesday, April 8

The drone maker is hosting simultaneous events in New York, London and Munich inviting us to "Experience Wonder."

There's nothing like a good teaser video to delight (and potentially anger) your fans.

Drone-maker DJI posted the video above to its YouTube channel today. In it we learn the company is hosting three simultaneous events in New York, London and Munich. What will be revealed at those events, on the other hand, is a mystery.

CNET hasn't been briefed on what's coming, but the safe money is on an update to the extremely popular Phantom line. The Phantom 2 was announced in December 2013, so it's certainly due for a refresh.

Unlike the Phantom 2 Vision+ , which arrived this time last year, the Phantom 2 does not have its own camera. So if you just bought a Vision+ you might be in the clear, while Phantom 2 owners might want to be considering returns and resale value.

Rumors of a Phantom 3 have been swirling around since late last year, but much of those materialized as the Inspire 1 , the company's higher-end quadcopter with a 4K camera. More rumors came before CES 2015, but those turned out to be new camera gimbals including a handheld one to take advantage of the Inspire 1's removable camera.

CNET will be at the London and New York events, so check back on Wednesday, April 8, for full coverage of DJI's announcements. You'll also be able to watch a live stream of the events starting at 11:30 a.m. in New York, 4:30 p.m. in London or 5:30 p.m. in Munich on DJI's YouTube channel.

Close
Drag
Autoplay: ON Autoplay: OFF