Windows Legacy OS forum

Tip

XP3 freezing up every two days!!

by gandorwig / July 22, 2011 5:14 AM PDT

Hi! I'm brand new to CNET forum. I run XP3 on a Dell 3000. My PC started freezing up after being on a couple of days. I would have to do a hard boot to free memory and get my PC to respond. I did a memory test with this software-Memtest 86.I discovered one on my memory sticks was bad.. I had a spare and replaced the bad stick .My PC is not freezing anymore. A bad memory stick can cause a number of problems that can go unnoticed. I recommend using this Memtest 86 on a routine basis. It is unusual for memory to go bad but it does happen. This is freeware and can be down loaded and burned to a CD at this link.
Have a great day and I hope this tip will help some one.
Gary!!
http://www.memtest86.com/download.html

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: XP3 freezing up every two days!!
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: XP3 freezing up every two days!!
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.