General discussion

XP, the Internet, viruses and trojans

Hi!

I am not exactly a computer novice but I am by no means an expert. In the past I have learned about operating my computer by trial and error. I have never really researched how to fix problems or configure the computer and programs for the best results. BUT NOW I?M AT WAR!!!!!!!!!

I have recently been having problems with spy ware and ad ware. As well as trojans and viruses. I use AOL and installed their ?PrivacyWall? software. I?m not sure but I think it has been crashing my computer. The software is made by MacAfee and works very well. But soon after installing (this is now the third time it has happened) the computer goes into safe mode when I restart it. I don?t mean right after the install. I mean a day or two later when I turn on my computer.

I have sent the computer to HP and had it put back to factory specification 2 times and can?t believe it has happened again. Could there be a flaw in the hard drive that is causing this?

Also I have a HP Pavilion laptop. It has been freezing when on the internet. Ctrl ? Alt ? Delete does not work. I have to manually shut down the computer. It happens over and over again. I am afraid it will affect XP. I installed Privacy Guard software to clear all unneeded internet history. I thought that the storage of history and cookies I could not get to might be the problem. It has made the computer run faster on the internet. But the freezing has not stopped. It has 398MHz and 256 MB of ram. In reading some of the posts I am under the impression that I should install more ram. Is this true? Will configuring the process that XP runs using the suggested settings of some suggested tech web pages I have seen in this forum free up enough memory to stop the problem? I read that XP runs something like 38 things that you do not need to run all the time.