Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

XP SP-2 & HD Installation

by The_Marine / June 22, 2005 12:44 PM PDT

Current configuration: Dell Dimension 4100, 10 GB Hard Drive, Windows XP Home SP-1. I want to install a much bigger HD and install XP SP-2. I also want to replace my DVD Drive with a CD writer to burn backups. The 10 GB HD is OK, but 5 years old and about 80% full. My initial plan is to keep the 10 GB HD running after I install the big HD. Here's my dilemma: I have no experience doing these procedures with a Windows machine. Can someone advise me/provide references as to the best sequence in installing the new HD and installing XP SP-2 such that the new HD is the master drive (wiring harness positions, connection - disconection, etc). Also, how do I ensure all the various applications that work directly with the OS (address books, drivers, virus eaters, etc.) are moved to the new HD without damage. Any assistance is welcome. Of course I cannot afford to lose anything on my system, and everything is too big to dump to my Zip discs. Therefore I need to be very sure of what I'm doing before I start.

Thanx again, Richard B

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: XP SP-2 & HD Installation
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: XP SP-2 & HD Installation