HolidayBuyer's Guide

TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

Working with a 19" TV.

by jaredmac11 / September 23, 2007 6:45 AM PDT

Hey guys. Im a student without too much money to throw around. I was wanting to get a smaller HD tv (mostly for the widescreen, not so much the HD. I dont have HD cable, I dont have an HD console, and I dont have HD movies), but those things run at like $600-800, so they will definitely have to come later in life.

All I have is a 19" TV for my room. It only has one input, a coax input.

Id like to get cable to my TV and hook up my DVD player. My DVD player only has S-vid, composite and component outputs, so Im not sure what to do.

Are there converters out there that would allow me to hook up my DVD player and dvd player?

also, my room only has one cable jack, and that is currently being used for my modem. Im not entirely certain if this is legal (please PLEASE tell me if its not) but my gf gave me a cable splitter and I was wanting to split the line so I could hook up my TV and keep my internet running from one jack. Is this feasible? Would I see any kind of performance hit from my cable internet?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Working with a 19" TV.
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Working with a 19" TV.