HolidayBuyer's Guide

Dell forum

General discussion

wiping hard drive clean

by grannie2u / May 16, 2009 6:57 AM PDT

I have a Dell Inspiron 530s computer. I wanted to wipe my hard drive clean and reinstall windows vista, which my computer was running before,but when I used the cd's that came with my system it didn't wipe off the hard drive and now I don't have my d drive and my e drive is now my cd drive. I have only 230 gb of memory left.What do I do to fix this and get my computer back to the original way it was when I purchased it.

Thanks for any help in solving this problem for me. I'm really new at the computer,so wlii need things stated as simple as possible.
grannie 2u

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: wiping hard drive clean
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: wiping hard drive clean
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
here how to reinstal
by Basket628 / May 16, 2009 7:27 AM PDT