Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

Windows XP Networking problem.

by jnanas / January 28, 2004 11:01 AM PST

I was working on a friends computer the other day, on a problem that i havent seen before. The computer is running roadrunner cable internet service provider, never had a problem before. One day it just stopped working, i log onto windows and i notice it has an automatically assigned IP address, one of those 169.254.*.* that Windows loves to assign. I try to do an ipconfig /release, ipconfig /renew and it tells me some message like "The command was trying to be executed on something that isnt a socket" or some message to that nature. This is my first time running into this kind of a problem, what can i do to fix it?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Windows XP Networking problem.
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Windows XP Networking problem.
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -