Computer Help forum

Question

Windows 8.1 Files missing/Deleted

by Fabledarr0w / April 2, 2015 5:41 AM PDT

Here is a picture of my desktop now http://puu.sh/gZaHO/7607d9ecc3.png (The left side and top were full of folders) and my background is now black because everything is gone, I did a system restore to 5 days ago and after a day the same problem occurred. I have also lost notepad saves for 2+ years etc..

I have tried del "c:\Windows Activation Technologies" I don't even have it (I think, and yes I ran this as admin.)http://puu.sh/gZbE0/b814464da7.png I have tried to show hidden files and everything.

Someone please help :/

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Windows 8.1 Files missing/Deleted
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Windows 8.1 Files missing/Deleted
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.

All Answers

Collapse -
Answer
MP3 Rocket. Again?
by R. Proffitt Forum moderator / April 2, 2015 5:53 AM PDT
https://www.google.com/#q=mp3rocket+malware