Attention: The forums are currently placed on Read Only.

Thank you for visiting the CNET forums. Our site is currently undergoing some maintenance. During this period (6:30 AM to 8 PM PDT,) you can read the forums content, however posting in the forum will not be available. We apologize for this inconvenience. Click here to read details

Windows Vista forum

General discussion

Why The Complaints?

by terryparker / February 15, 2007 9:03 AM PST

I have been using Windows Vista (Retail Version) for 3 months now (I am a TechNet Subscriber) and I have not had a single problem. Take into account i am a very heavy user and I also do programming.
I have a HP Pavilion dv9000t. When I got Vista I did a clean install. once I started every single thing just worked. The HP QuickLaunch Buttons worked, my graphics card (nVIDIA GeForce Go 7600) just worked, I had aero instantly. My WiFi worked instantly, so did my sound, mouse pad, my FN keys (for the brightness etc). The only thing I had to get a driver for was for Lightscribe. I have not had program compatibility issues (but that might just be the programs I use). I have not had a single BSOD (Blue Screen Of Death for the newbies). My system has not crashed once, everything just worked without a problem.
So I recommend that instead of people upgrading thier current OS, just backup data and do a clean install.
I think that upgrading is what is causing all the problems.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Why The Complaints?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates