General discussion

Why isn't C-Net attacking a real issue?

Sorry, CNET, but I needed to call attention to something, so I used you as the fall guy.

Getting email and knowing what to do with it is getting to be very annoying. How many times have you received an email from a bank, a buying service, Amazon, Ebay, PayPal, etc. And you know the request is bogus and you know someone is out there trying to scam you.

You want to do the right thing and forward the message to the respective institution so they'll know-right? But it seems every institution in America has to put their own dang spin on email addresses and reporting. SPOOF at PayPal, Stop-spoofing at Amazon, phishing at another place, abuse at another, on and on it goes.

I'm a Viet Nam vet of the Navy and the Air Force. In the military we had a saying. It was called KISS, for Keep It Simple Stupid!

I would like to see CNET charge to the front on this issue and see if they can't get all of these institutions on the same page. Like....abuse@everyinstitution or something similar so that we fools out here don't have to guess so much just to do the right thing.

Thank you!

Discussion is locked

Follow
Reply to: Why isn't C-Net attacking a real issue?
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Why isn't C-Net attacking a real issue?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments