Spyware, Viruses, & Security forum

General discussion

Why I deleted McAfee

by Drora / October 29, 2004 12:16 AM PDT

I was a loyal customer of McAfee since 1995, but recently they made me mad enough at them that I deleted Mcafee altogether from my machine.

I believe that the program I have purchased from them on disc from the store is mine, just as the disc I bought from the store is mine. THAT PROGRAM ON THAT DISC IS NOT TO BE TAMPERED WITH BY MCAFEE UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES BUT IT LOOKS THEY DID JUST THAT. I am not a computer expert but this is what seems to be in my case.

My conclusion from what happened with me is that they want approximately one hundred dollars per year from you if you want to keep their program on your machine.

When the update period expired they notified me, and I went to their site for renewal. Since I already have the program, I figured that all I need is to continue the update. They charge $ 19.99 per year for that privilege and I wanted to buy just that.

I clicked on that one and instead of purchase confirmation I got few more offers about improvements I didn't think I need.

I said 'No thank you' and proceeded to the exit but in the exit was waiting for me a bill that included everything they have to offer for a sum nearing $ 100.00.

I thougt that by mistake I have selected all that, so I went back to correct, and this time I made sure I click only on the $ 19.99 item, then proceeded to the exit.

The entire bill for about $ 100 with all that McAfee has to offer was there again... and I simply refused it and closed the window.

I went there for renewal after few days. I thought maybe they had a glitch in their purchasing program, and now I can select only what I want, but no, the same thing is there again. Buy everything or nothing.

I tried this for many weeks, I even wrote to them about it, but got nowhere.

Deleting McAfee altogether after so many years.