Internet Service Providers forum

Question

Why Gateway Address ?

by ramusson / February 23, 2015 3:03 PM PST

Hello to all.

I have a ADSL Broadband service where the telephone line terminates on a Modem. The Modem LAN port (there are 4 of them) has a default address as 192.168.1.1. My computer is connected to one of the LAN ports and I have some knowledge on IP address, Mask, Gateway, DHCP, ...

The issue:

I have another modem that has a VOIP interface with a VXS port. In addition to configuring the VOIP interface to the VOIP service provider, this unit needs to be configured to link to the Broadband modem. I find that there are 2 parameters that are a must - DNS address and a Gateway address. The Gateway address puzzles me. Unless I give the correct Gateway address, the VOIP service is a no go.
There is a VOIP service provider - "MagicJack" who offers an unit that interfaces with the Broadband Modem without any hitch - just like in a PC where a connection can be made without entering a Gateway address. Even if I change the Modem IP address, it still connects. What's the trick?

My question. Is it possible to connect a Router to the Modem without defining the Gateway IP address?
Intention: Configure the spare VOIP modem to provide the VOIP service on ANY internet connection without re configuration.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Why Gateway Address ?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.