General discussion

Why are Wireless Connections so INSECURE:

I am a man in my 70's, who enjoys building, repairing and servicing desktop computers, as a hobby. Due to the fact that I need to update or download files from the internet, I thought that a wireless connection would be the best solution. About 2 years ago, I bought a netgear wireless router, together with a netgear USB adapter, and using both I made a network by which I could connect to the internet wirelessly. I had been using this method for about 2 months, when the credit card company, whose card I used to fulfil transactions on the internet, contacted me by telephone, and informed me that some fairly large transactions had been made from my credit account, which they believed were fraudulent. One of these transactions was to pay a hotel bill, of over

Discussion is locked

Follow
Reply to: Why are Wireless Connections so INSECURE:
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Why are Wireless Connections so INSECURE:
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
They're Easily Interceptable