Laptops forum

General discussion

which pentium chip for my needs?

I am about to buy a Dell Latitude D600.
My processor options are
Pentium M 1.40
Pentium 725 1.60
Pentium 745 1.80

I gather the latter 2 options are Dothans.. Will it make a huge difference in speed/performance for my needs, or barely noticeable? What are the disadvantages of the 1.40 ghz?

I am a writer; I plan to use primarily for word processing and web surfing. Occasional downloading photos, DVD watching, CD burning. No gaming.

I need something with a decent keyboard size thus am choosing D600 for its mid-size yet it's not too heavy (5lb) for occasional travel. Mainly will use it plugged in though; I am not anticipating using the battery too much. I assume centrino is still the way to go and not Pentium 4 under these circumstances. please confirm?

I did look at the IBM thinkpad T series but the cost seems high compared to what I can get with the Latitude -- unless I am missing something? Compaqx1000 is too heavy. Would anyone recommend the Compaq nc6000 instead of the Dell?
Thanks for your opinion.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: which pentium chip for my needs?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: which pentium chip for my needs?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.