Cameras forum

General discussion

Which Lenses...

Ok, I think I've decided on the camera I'm getting via reviews on this site and others - the Canon Digital Rebel. Now that that parts done (and deciding took a considerable amount of time) I need to know what lenses to get. I know I'll need a macro and a telephoto, but there are different mm of each and I'm not good with understanding the lenses.
I'll describe I guess what I need them for:
1) Longdistance wildlife photography - birds in flight mostly
2) Closeup fish pictures with the subject no more than 2ft away, and closeup insect/other animal
3) I guess a general, good-for-most-anything (like family pics, etc), lens w/zoom

Now I don't have an unlimited supply of $$, but I don't want the cheapest stuff either. This isn't for pro-work or anything like that, but I'd like to produce good pictures.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions. And, though this may be pushing it, if you have any example pics taken w/ the recommended lense that'd be superb.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Which Lenses...
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Which Lenses...
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.