Linux forum

General discussion

Where to start

I want to switch my windows computer to Linux but have no idea where to even begin. I'm not a computer newb, but I am new to Linux. The machine I want to install it on is a pentium 4 3.06ghz with over a gig of ram. I'm not even sure what other info you'd need to help lol. Perhaps someone could suggest the right form of linux?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Where to start
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Where to start
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
The right form of Linux is... determined by you.

In reply to: Where to start

You didn't give much to work with but I like KNOPPIX since you don't have to install it to see if you can use it. SUSE and others have LIVE CDs you can test drive until you find what you are looking for.

Bob

Collapse -
well...

In reply to: The right form of Linux is... determined by you.